A Travellerspoint blog

Hawick in the Scottish Borders

A slideshow

overcast 12 °C
View week in Hawick on drever's travel map.

Hawick is the largest town in the Scottish Borders and one of the farthest from the sea. It sits at the confluence of the Slitrig Water with the River Teviot. The west end of the town contains "the Mote", the remains of a Scoto-Norman motte-and-bailey castle. In the centre of the High Street is the Scots baronial style town hall, built in 1886, and the east end has an equestrian statue, known as "the Horse", erected in 1914. Drumlanrig's Tower, now a museum, dates largely from the mid-16th century. To the west is Wilton Lodge Park, one of the most picturesque town parks in Scotland, with its tree lined walks, river, waterfall, formal gardens, museum and walled gardens.

In 2009 another monument, "The Turning of the bull" was added. It depicts William Rule turning a wild bull charging King Robert the Bruce, thus saving the king's life. A poem written by John Leyden commemorates this historical event. "His arms robust the hardy hunter flung around his bending horns, and upward wrung, with writhing force his neck retorted round, and rolled the panting monster to the ground, crushed, with enormous strength, his bony skull; and courtiers hailed the man who turned the bull."

The town had a railway station and it is hoped that a railway linking the town to Edinburgh and Carlise might be restated. Waverley Walk in Hawick is a footpath along the former railway route. The town hosts the annual Common Riding, which combines the annual riding of the boundaries of the town's common land with the commemoration of a victory of local youths over an English raiding party in 1514. People from Hawick call themselves "Teries", after a traditional song which includes the line "Teribus ye teri odin".

Several companies in Hawick, producing luxury cashmere and merino wool knitwear. The town is home to Alchemy Film and Arts. Its flagship annual event includes experimental film and artists' moving images. Alchemy works with artists and communities within Hawick and the Scottish Borders on a year-round basis. In summer 2019, Alchemy launched its award-winning Film Town project, which "aims to work to the benefit of Hawick by widening accessibility and inclusion for audiences, participants, and partners, and by challenging social, physical and communication barriers... while contributing to Hawick’s economic regeneration through an investment in its cultural identity".

The town is the home of Hawick Rugby Football Club and a senior football team, Hawick Royal Albert, who currently play in the East of Scotland Football League. The Hawick baw game was once played here by the 'uppies' and the 'doonies' on the first Monday after the new moon in the month of February. The river of the town formed an important part of the pitch. Although no longer played at Hawick, it is still played at nearby Jedburgh and as far afield as in Kirkwall up in Orkney.

Hawick balls or baws, also known as Hills Balls or taffy rock bools, are a peppermint-flavoured boiled sweet that originated in the town. They are particularly associated with rugby commentator Bill McLaren who was known to offer them from a bag that he always carried.

Posted by drever 15:13 Archived in Scotland Tagged bridges churches buildings children scotland history holiday

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUpon

Table of contents

Be the first to comment on this entry.

Comments on this blog entry are now closed to non-Travellerspoint members. You can still leave a comment if you are a member of Travellerspoint.

Login